Complete ICC World Cup Winners List

The Cricket World Cup, also known as the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, first took in 1975 and since then, the quadrennial event has been taking place at the highest level, with no bigger honour yet to be given out in the world of cricket. The International Cricket Council (ICC) is the organiser of the ICC World Cup, also referred to as the ODI World Cup after the T20 World Cup was introduced in 2007.

There have been some iconic ICC World Cup highlights over the years, and some players who have etched their names in the ODI World Cup record books, with both bat and ball. With the 2023 ICC World Cup upon us, we’re going to go down memory lane and take a look at every ICC World Cup winner there has been, from 1975 till date…

Complete ICC World Cup Winners List

The first women’s world cup took place a couple of years before the men’s event. However, the men caught up and the first edition of the 50-over World Cup took place in England in 1975, four years after the first men’s ODI was played. Today, the tournament has grown to having 14 participating teams and it’s also considered as one of the world’s most viewed sporting events.

SEE ALSO: List of top online sports betting websites

West Indies dominated world cricket during the 1970s and 1980s and they went on to win not only the first but also the second edition of the men’s ICC World Cup, and then losing after making the final in the third edition in 1983 as well. After making the finals of the first three editions of the ODI World Cup, West Indies lost their edge over other teams and have since, never reached another ODI World Cup final.

In terms of the most successful teams, Australia is miles ahead of everyone else with as many as five (5) ODI World Cup titles to their name. The next most successful teams in this tournament are West Indies and India, who have won the title twice (2) each. See below for our complete ICC World Cup winners list till date, updated as of 17th September 2023, before the start of the ICC World Cup 2023:

Complete ICC World Cup winners list

Year Winner Runner-up Venue Man of the Match
1975 West Indies Australia Lord’s, London Clive Lloyd – 102(85) & 1/38
1979 West Indies (2) England Lord’s, London Viv Richards – 138(157)*
1983 India West Indies Lord’s, London Mohinder Amarnath – 26(80) & 3/12
1987 Australia England Eden Gardens, Kolkata David Boon – 75(125)
1992 Pakistan England MCG, Melbourne Wasim Akram – 33(18) & 3/49
1996 Sri Lanka Australia Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore Aravinda de Silva – 107(124)*, 3/42 & 2 catches
1999 Australia (2) Pakistan Lord’s, London Shane Warne – 4/33
2003 Australia (3) India Wanderer’s, Johannesburg Ricky Ponting – 140(121)*
2007 Australia (4) Sri Lanka Kensington Oval, Bridgetown Adam Gilchrist – 149(104) & 2 catches
2011 India (2) Sri Lanka Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai MS Dhoni – 91(79)*
2015 Australia (5) New Zealand MCG, Melbourne James Faulkner – 3/36
2019 England New Zealand Lord’s, London Ben Stokes – 84(98)*
2023 TBD TBD Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad TBD

The first four editions of the ODI World Cup all had 8 participating teams each, while the maximum number of teams to have played in a single edition was seen in World Cup 2007, where as many as 16 teams participated in the West Indies. After a lot of backlash for only 10 teams playing in World Cup 2023, ICC announced that all future editions will have at least 14 participating nations in the ICC World Cup.

Till date, no team apart from Australia and West Indies have managed to defend their title and win consecutive World Cups. West Indies did it in the first two editions, while Australia became the first team to win a hat-trick of ICC World Cup titles, between 1999, 2003, and 2007. Their supremacy in this competition is unmatched, having also won the most number of ICC World Cup matches – 69 out of 94.

SEE ALSO: List of best fantasy sports websites in India

One of the most consistent but at the same time most unfortunate teams in this ICC World Cup winners list will have to be New Zealand as they’ve finished 6 times as semi finalists and twice (2015 and 2019) as finalists, losing to Australia and England respectively. The ICC World Cup 2019 final will go down as the best world cup final of all time, as the match was tied in regulation time and then again in the super over, giving England the cup because of a higher boundary count during the match.

On the individual front, a bunch of players have played in more than one World Cup final but no single player has ever been awarded the Man of the Match in a World Cup final twice. We think one of the best performances in a WC final came in the ICC World Cup 1996 final where Sri Lanka’s Aravinda de Silva took his side to victory with 107(124)* with the bat, followed with 3/42 with the ball, and 2 catches too.

For more updates from the ICC World Cup and also other cricket tournaments from around the world, stay tuned to

Register on Betway and get massive FREE Bets every week

Win big in Betway's predictor

See also:

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top